Music-Musique NB Announces 2016 Award Nominees

Category: music 319

Andy Brown, Tristan Horncastle, Kill Chicago and Chris Colepaugh and the Cosmic Crew each receive several nominations.

music-nbMusic-Musique NB has announced this year’s nominees for the 7th annual Prix MNB Awards, which will be handed out Thursday October 13 at Miramichi’s Carrefour communautaire Beausoleil.  A total of 25 awards will be presented to artists and industry professionals who have made their mark on the NB music scene in the past year.  The MNB Directors’ Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Miramichi fiddler Matilda Murdoch.

A number of categories are open for public voting, while others are determined solely by a panel of jurors. The general Music Award winners will be decided by the general public (25%), jurors (25%) and MNB members (50%). All nominees, regardless of categories, are automatically eligible for the Fans’ Choice Award, which will be determined 100% by the public.

Online voting is now live. Visit to vote and to learn more about this year’s Festival (506).

Here’s this year’s nominees:

Album of the Year

Presented by Théâtre Capitol

  • Seasons, Andy Brown
  • RnR, Chris Colepaugh and the Cosmic Crew
  • The Grey, Kill Chicago
  • Turnin’ up a Sundown, Tristan Horncastle
  • Silent, Tyler Hache

Enregistrement Solo De L’année

  • Danny Party, Danny Boudreau
  • Chansons, et autres flâneries…, Denis Richard
  • Pot mason, Joannie Benoît
  • La tige et la racine, Pierre Guitard
  • Jaune, Simon Daniel

Chanson Socan De L’année

  • “Le vieux matelot”, Danny Boudreau
    {auteur(s): Danny Boudreau}
  • “Jamais…”, Denis Richard
    {auteur(s): Denis Richard}
  • “Marianne”, Pierre Guitard
    {auteur(s): Pierre Guitard}
  • “Soif”, Simon Daniel
    {auteur(s): Simon Daniel}

Group Recording Of The Year ||| Enregistrement De Groupe De L’année

presented by Agence Wade

  • RnR, Chris Colepaugh and the Cosmic Crew
  • Voltron, City Natives
  • The Grey, Kill Chicago
  • Touche-moi pas là, Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire
  • I’d Watch The Day Til It Died, Little You Little Me

Emerging Artist Of The Year ||| Découverte De L’année

presented by Plan B Lounge

  • David in the Dark
  • Kenny James
  • Lionsault
  • Simon Daniel
  • Tyler Deveau

Socan Song Of The Year

  • “Run, Andy Brown
    {writer(s): Andy Brown}
  • “My World”, Chris Colepaugh and the Cosmic Crew
    {writer(s): Chris Colepaugh & Craig Watson}
  • “All The Words”, The Motorleague
    {writer(s): Don Levandier, Shawn Chiasson, Nathan Jones & Francis Landry}
  • “Drinkin’ Girl”, Tristan Horncastle
    {writer(s): Aaron Goodvin, Bart Butler & Tristan Horncastle}
  • “Flashing Lights”, Tyler Hache
    {writer(s): Tyler Hache & Chris Kirby}

Enregistrement De L’année

  • Danny Party, Danny Boudreau
  • Chansons, et autres flâneries…, Denis Richard
  • Touche-moi pas là, Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire
  • La tige et la racine, Pierre Guitard
  • Jaune, Simon Daniel

Solo Recording Of The Year

  • Seasons, Andy Brown
  • Dillon Ryan’s Hindsight, Dillon Ryan
  • Adventures, Jaclyn Reinhart
  • Onset Take 2, Paul Wilfred
  • Silent, Tyler Hache

Country Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste Country De L’année

  • Josh Norrad
  • Kenny James
  • The Galpines
  • Tyler Deveau
  • Tristan Horncastle

Hip-Hop Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste Hip-Hop De L’année

  • Boyy Hills
  • City Natives
  • Fortunato
  • Old Self & Kam Speech
  • The Cauldron Project

Electronic Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste De Musique Électronique De L’année

  • Artifiseer
  • Ben Rama
  • Elephant Skeletons
  • Paranerd

Loud Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste Loud De L’année

  • Beard Springsteen
  • Shades of Sorrow
  • ZAUM

Rock Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste Rock De L’année

presented by Principle Projects

  • Chris Colepaugh and the Cosmic Crew
  • David in the Dark
  • Kill Chicago
  • Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire
  • The Motorleague
  • Right Shitty

Folk Artist Of The Year ||| Artiste Folk De L’année

  • Andy Brown
  • Denis Richard
  • Hayden Wiebe
  • Leo LaFleur
  • Tyler Hache

Educator Of The Year ||| Éducateur De L’année

  • Chris Wheaton
  • Danny Boudreau
  • Hilary Ladd
  • Krista Touesnard
  • Stacey Read

Music P Event/Festival Of The Year ||| Évènement/Festival De L’année

presented by Periwinkle Productions

  • Accros de la chanson
  • Future Forest
  • Larlee Creek Hullabaloo
  • Noël en Acadie de Laurie LeBlanc

Producer Of The Year ||| Réalisateur De L’année

  • Allon McCall
  • Chris Colepaugh
  • Jared Lutes
  • Nick Fowler
  • Tristan Horncastle

Venue Of The Year ||| Salle De Spectacle De L’année

presented by ||| présenté par Music Canada Live

  • InterAction School Of Performing Arts
  • Plan b Lounge
  • Whalen’s Barn

Music Business Of The Year ||| Entreprise De L’industrie Musicale De L’année

presented by ||| présenté par Botsford Bros

  • “What’s The Finish?” Podcast
  • Dirt Road Records
  • Garrison Hill Entertainment
  • Malkin Music / Cyber PR Army / Mission Control

Video Of The Year ||| Vidéo De L’année

  • “Count to Ten”, Kill Chicago
  • “La tige & la racine”, Pierre Guitard
  • “Harley 1970”, Raphaël Butler
  • “The Boards”, The Motorleague
  • “Drinkin’ Girl”, Tristan Horncastle

Music Industry Professionnal Of The Year ||| Professionnel De L’année De L’industrie Musicale

  • Anne-Marie Parenteau
  • Charles Hebert
  • Dwayne Marcial
  • Lynn Colepaugh
  • Shelley Chase

MNB Awards Show | October 13, 2016 | Carrefour communautaire Beausoleil | Miramichi, NB | Buy Tickets


alt text

Related Articles