Jane LeBlanc Legacy Fund Announces First Round of Winners

Category: arts 212

There are currently thirteen awards offered through the Jane LeBlanc Legacy Fund supporting a range of artistic work from songwriting and filmmaking to storytelling and photography.

Top L-R: Anthony Bryan, Kaitlyn Adair and Jason Anderson. Bottom L-R: Sue Rose and Anne Lebans.

The Jane LeBlanc Legacy Fund is mandated to nurture and develop emerging and seasoned creative artists in New Brunswick in honour of Jane LeBlanc who died in 2010 at the age of 46.

So far, a total of five award winners have been announced for 2022. They are as follows:

Anthony Bryan – Jane LeBlanc Acting Support Award – $800

Louis Anthony Bryan (he/him) is a Fredericton-based theatre artist, stand-up comedian, performer, and educator from Trinidad and Tobago. An active and contributing member in the arts, Anthony has been involved with many local theatre and film companies, including Notable Acts, TNB Young Company, and The St. Thomas Early English Drama Society. He has also acted in short films with Rebel Femme Productions and Strike Pictures.

Anthony hosts stand-up comedy at open mics throughout New Brunswick and local arts events: including Flourish and Shivering Songs.

For the past three years, he has taught at Theatre New Brunswick, hosting their Young Playwrights program, an after-school program dedicated to introducing secondary school students to the fundamentals of scriptwriting.

Kaitlyn Adair – Jane LeBlanc Film Post Award – $2000

Kaitlyn Adair (she/her) is an actor, writer, director, and producer from Fredericton, New Brunswick. She started her career in film, working as an actor in film and television in Vancouver, B.C. She attended Vancouver Film School in 2011 and has been pursuing her passion for film since. Kaitlyn won the Jane LeBlanc Filmmaker Award for her first film March 2.4, allowing her to attend a post-production residency at The Banff Centre For Arts and Creativity. In addition, she received the Short Film Venture Grant and the CBC-NB Joy Award for her second film, Together We Move. Kaitlyn is dedicated to feminist-based media and creating inclusive spaces for marginalized communities to partake in visual arts. You can find her @rebelatart on Instagram and Youtube.

Jason Anderson – Arnold LeBlanc Songwriter Award – $2000

Jason Anderson is a Fredericton-based singer-songwriter whose work is as anthemic as it is affecting. A dynamic recording artist and compelling live performer, the emotional immediacy of his albums is further electrified through cathartic, communal concerts. Personal and passionate, Anderson’s music crackles with life.

Sue Rose – Jane LeBlanc Screenwriter Award – $500

Sue Rose is a multi-disciplinary artist and graphic designer living in Sackville, NB. She found her love of theatre when she became involved with Sackville’s community theatre, Performers’ Theatre Company, in 2009. As a founding member, she has participated in many productions as an actor, costumer, director and playwright. She has written over a dozen plays and seen six produced. Her most recent work, Aloria Mae, was produced by Live Bait Theatre and staged at the Moyter-Fancy Theatre in Sackville in May of 2022.Rose has taken every opportunity to develop her skills as a writer. She hoped to expand her skills by submitting to the inaugural Jane LeBlanc Screenwriting category with the Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick. The competition gave her the opportunity to learn about screenwriting and she has enjoyed the process.Rose is President of Sackville’s summer festival, Festival By The Marsh. She is also a board member of PARC, the Playwrights Atlantic Resource Centre. She is Playwright-in-Residence with Live Bait Theatre for 2022.

Anne Lebans – Jane LeBlanc Music Studio Mentee Program – $2000 (in value)

Anne is the first winner of the Fund’s new Music Studio Mentee Program. Her mentor is Cat LeBlanc.

Anne is a mindfulness coach, content creator and co-founder of It’s OK to be Awesome, a mental wellness program for children. Passionate about how self-compassion helps us unleash our most authentic selves, Anne has been using this platform to help children, families, and communities take a more loving approach to themselves and each other. Anne is also a sound healer, using her voice to heal and uplift through vocal sound baths, a voice actor and writer.

Upcoming programs and submission deadlines:

Photography Award – July 1
Storytelling Award – July 1
Music Studio Mentee Program – July 15
Creative Scholarship – August 1
Visual Art Award – August 1
Artistic Support Scholarship – September 1
Filmmaker Award – September 1
Music Composer Award – September 15

Full details for all awards and programs can be found at www.janeleblanclegacyfund.com

alt text

Related Articles