CHSR Celebrate Programming with Annual Awards

Category: community 105

tHEBARRYAWARDS-2CHSR handed out their annual programming awards over the weekend.  The Barry Awards, named after Barry Yoell, one of the station’s cofounders, have been honouring hosts and volunteers since 1971.  The awards are voted on by the station’s listening audience with the exception of the Carmen Kilburn Award and the Director’s Choice Award.

The Carmen Kilburn Award honours a member or non-member who has shown a big commitment to the station, past or present.  This year’s winner is music director and host of The Crazy Train, Chris Waddell.  This year’s Director’s Choice recpitent is Fred Gagnon who volunteered at the station, contributing his expertise to many technical aspects of the station’s operations. Gagnon is a member of the Canadian Armed Forces and was recently transferred to a position in Ontario.

This year’s big winner was the music program Pardon My French, hosted by Jean-Étienne Sheehy, who took home two of the nine awards.

Grid City Magazine wishes to extend a big congratulations to this year’s winners and everyone involved in the station’s operations.  From hosts and directors to the many volunteers, your efforts play a valuable role in our community. Thank you for all that you do.

2015 Barry Award Winners

Best New Show: Pardon My French

Best Live Show: Against The Mat

Best Locally Focused Show: Fredericton This Week

Best Pre-Recorded Show: Do You Know Jack?

Fan Favourite Music Show: Run For Your Life

Fan Favourite Spoken Word Show: Where Monsters Dwell

Fan Favourite Host: Bondo

The Carmon Kilburn Award: Chris Waddell

Director’s Choice: Fred Gagnon

Listen to CHSR at 97.9FM or online at

alt text

Related Articles