New Music from Yorks

Category: music 137

Fredericton quartet breaks hiatus to share new 5-track EP.

Yorks cropped

Just as we enter the coldest and most relentless part of the winter season, Yorks step out of limbo to share a second EP’s worth of catchy, infectious ear worms to help divert our collective attention to some place warmer, even if it’s just for 20 minutes or so. And for that, we’re grateful.

II continues on the path first established on the group’s June 2016 release I. It’s well-oiled, highly-polished pop influenced rock and roll performed by an impressive collection of some of Fredericton’s finest and most ubiquitous musicians. Guitarist Mike Nason (The Trick, Young Satan in Love), bassist Jake Spencer (DEEP FRYER) and drummer Adam Guidry (Mayors, Chips) provide the ideal backing for guitarist/vocalist Josh Noseworthy’s songwriting and signature raspy vocal delivery.

Recorded by Chris MacLean at All in the Mind Studios during the same session that yielded the band’s debut EP, II is a welcomed addition to a quickly expanding list of impressive 2017 New Brunswick releases. More importantly, it’s nice to know Yorks still have some gas in the tank. Who knows, maybe we’ll see them on stage again later in the year. Fingers crossed.

alt text

Related Articles