Genevieve MacRae Receives 2019 Diane London Award

Category: community 494

The Diane London Award was presented to Tay Creek Folk Festival chair Genevieve MacRae as part of River Jam 2019. 

Photo: Music NB

River Jam celebrated another successful event this past weekend with hundreds of people enjoying the annual summer celebration of music along the St. John River. During the evening of music and in between sets of the 17 local bands, a special award was presented.

Each year during River Jam, a special award is presented in honour of Diane London, beloved diva of the Downtown Blues Band, whose final performance was at River Jam 2004, before losing her battle to cancer. The award is presented to a local musician, artist, or arts-related woman with a creative spirit and talent, who gives of themselves, to the community and who exemplifies the spirit and character of Diane.

The 2019 recipient for the Diane London award is Genevieve MacRae. Genevieve is all about music- teaching, performing, directing and promoting!  A long- time volunteer and current Chairperson with the Tay Creek Folk Festival,  she is the Director of  both the Royal Road Elementary School and Nashwaaksis Middle School bands, runs a private studio at The Ville and teaches numerous instruments.   Genevieve performs regularly with The Thomists and formed and performed in the band All Fired Up, which has played at River Jam.

Genevieve is an unbelievable talent, a true inspiration to all and someone that would make Diane London proud.   A presentation of the award plaque and a $600 cash prize was made just before the Downtown Blues Band’s performance at River Jam.

The Diane London Award is permanently housed in the Green Room of the Fredericton Playhouse.

Previous winners:

Kelly Waterhouse (2018)
Moon Victoria Joyce (2017)
Emma Chevarie (2016
Judy Lavigne (2015)
Jennifer Russell (2014)
Sylbie Roy (2013)
Helen Mòrag McKinnon (2012)
Becka DeHaan (2011)
Carolyn Holyoke (2010)
Krista Touesnard (2009)
Cathy Hutchinson (2008)
Maureen Steeves (2007)
Casey LeBlanc (2006)
Tania Breen (2005)

alt text   alt text

Related Articles